Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: any Dog food Recipes?

Default any Dog food Recipes?

Perhaps this is not the place for pet food requests (and if not please move to the correct area) but does anyone have any simple dog food recipes for if we run out of pet food?

I take a pound of ground turkey and 2 cups of rice and cook it with 4 cups of water. Then I add a can of mixed vegetables, some ramen and a couple of eggs, including the shells and mix it all up. I also throw in any leftovers that do not have garlic or onions.

I have been feeding this to my dogs for a couple years now and they are healthy, energetic and the perfect weight for their breeds. I started making this for them when the melamine scare began and any time I have run out and given them dry, commercial food, they have become sluggish and mopey. However, within hours of going back on this, they resume their perky, happy states.

I have some more recipes on my blog here:

http://justdogsdogsdogs.blogspot.com.../label/Recipes

Barb

Quote Originally Posted by BTR View Post
    I take a pound of ground turkey and 2 cups of rice and cook it with 4 cups of water. Then I add a can of mixed vegetables, some ramen and a couple of eggs, including the shells and mix it all up. I also throw in any leftovers that do not have garlic or onions.

I have been feeding this to my dogs for a couple years now and they are healthy, energetic and the perfect weight for their breeds. I started making this for them when the melamine scare began and any time I have run out and given them dry, commercial food, they have become sluggish and mopey. However, within hours of going back on this, they resume their perky, happy states.

Barb

Seems interesting I suppose it works with any ground meat. why mix in the egg shells? I would be afraid she would choke on them.